About Us

Mission: Performance

For 24 years, Thodos Dance Chicago has performed with captivating style described as “breathtakingly athletic” and “powerfully beautiful.” The company’s dedication to the American voice in contemporary dance has established TDC as an innovative presence in the modern dance landscape. The 2016-2017 season is TDC's 25th year of touring throughout the USA and performing in Chicago.

Mission: Education

Reaching young minds through dance education is vital to the mission of Thodos Dance Chicago. As an established teaching company, all members of the ensemble hold B.A. and M.F.A. degrees in dance and teach at the elementary, high school, and university levels.

Mission: Choreography & New Dances

Thodos Dance Chicago is passionate about offering Company Members a space in which they can develop their own artistic identity. The annual New Dances choreography project gives TDC’s multi-dimensional dancers the complete freedom to create their own work as choreographers and directors.

Thodos History

Thodos Dance Chicago was founded in 1992 by Artistic Director, Melissa Thodos, as a hub for dancers to grow, not only as performers, but as well-rounded dance artists. The company’s unique mission of inspiring expression through dance education, dance creation, and dance performance has established TDC as an original force in modern dance for 25 seasons.


Melissa Thodos, Founder & Artistic Director
View Bio

Kate Weatherly, Managing Director
View Bio

Laura Gates, Artistic Associate
View Bio

Rick Johnston, Bookings Director
View Bio

Tara Snyder, Rehearsal & Production Assistant
View Bio

Nathan Tomlinson, Resident Lighting Designer & Production Manager
View Bio

Nathan Rohrer, Resident Costume Designer
View Bio


John Cartwright
View Bio

Abby Ellison
View Bio

Marchetta Genis
View Bio

Alex Gordon
View Bio

Hattie Haggard
View Bio

Thomas Jacobson
View Bio

Jessica Miller Tomlinson
View Bio

Shelby Moran
View Bio

Melissa Panetta
View Bio

Richard Peña
View Bio

Brennen Renteria
View Bio

Tyler Ring
View Bio

Briana Robinson
View Bio

Luis Vazquez
View Bio


Lisa Caldwell
View Bio

Hailey Meert
View Bio

Rachel Spies
View Bio

Kristen Vasilakos
View Bio

Carson VonFeldt
View Bio

Board of Directors

Sharon Lear, President
Lesli Babbs, Secretary
Brandon Waters, Treasurer
Mara Georges
Rick Johnston
Christine Nappo
Shannon Raglin
Diane H. Reilly
Melissa Thodos
Kim Vatis

Advisory Board

Sonia Cooke
David Hall
Don Hunter
Darlene Johnson
Robert W. Karr Jr.
Robert Loveman
Elaine Margulis
Michael Nugent
Chris Olsen
Ann Reinking
Liz Sharp